Livermore-Amador Symphony logo Livermore-Amador Symphony

February 23, 2019
Colorful Characters

Doors open at 6:45 p.m.
Prelude talk from 7–7:30 p.m.
Concert begins at 8 p.m.

Bankhead Theater, 2400 First Street, Livermore, California

Rossini: William Tell Overture

Copland: Billy the Kid Suite

plus solos by winners of the 2018–2019 Competition for Young Musicians

Lone Ranger Rossini

Few composers had more success in their youth than the legendary Gioachino Rossini. His overture to William Tell takes us on a vivid journey from sunrise through a dramatic storm to meet our hero galloping into battle. The famous overture concludes with the most recognizable music of all time, known to many as the theme from The Lone Ranger. Aaron Copland introduces us to a real legend of the American West, Billy the Kid. Copland’s evocative music brings together fragments of real cowboy tunes within expansive harmonies that conjure up the western frontier. Come hear these stories and meet the talented winners of our Competition for Young Musicians.

Buy Tickets button

© Livermore-Amador Symphony Association

left-arrow December 2018 Concert   April 2019 Concert right-arrow