Livermore-Amador Symphony logo Livermore-Amador Symphony

The Guild

Fort Point, April 2016
Guild President Linda Tinney (at left)
with Music Director Lara Webber
while showing a bit of San Francisco to
cello soloist Austin Huntington on 4/6/16.
student performers Jan. 2016
Students (left to right:) Chloe Ma (piano),
Sean Lee (cello), and Rachel Liu (piano),
were soloists at the Guild meeting on 1/28/16.
making dreamcatchers for Pops
Guild members crafted dreamcatchers
to use for Pops decorations in October 2015.

Symphony Notes

Read the April 2017 edition of Symphony Notes (831KB pdf), the newsletter published by the Guild.

These past issues are also available: February 2017 (819KB pdf), December 2016 (853KB pdf), May 2016 (1.1MB pdf), April 2016 (887KB pdf), February 2016 (849KB pdf), December 2015 (860KB pdf), May 2015 (3.1MB pdf), April 2015 (459KB pdf), February 2015 (1.6MB pdf), December 2014 (630KB pdf), May 2014 (714KB pdf), April 2014 (359KB pdf), February 2014 (2.6MB pdf), and December 2013 (370KB pdf).

Purpose, Meetings, Activities

Food and conversation
after a meeting:
host Nan Davies with brownies April 2015
Host Nan Davies
Lara Webber at Guild meeting, April 2015
Music Director
Lara Webber

The Guild is the highly dedicated support group and fund-raising branch of the symphony; it has been a (large, active!) auxiliary of the Symphony Association since 1963. Its purpose is to stimulate interest in the Livermore-Amador Symphony and to provide financial support. Membership is open to all who share this goal.

The Guild meets four times a year (and its board meets about ten times a year); each meeting includes music and food in addition to a short business meeting. The first meeting of the 2016–2017 season was a prelude party, with a program by Valley Dance Theatre, on September 22, 2016; the winter meeting was on January 19, 2017. Next meetings will be on April 20 and May 25, 2017.

The Guild’s activities are varied; for example, the Guild handles the annual season-ticket campaign of the Symphony, presents pops concerts, publishes a newsletter, organizes estate sales, and provides refreshments at the Association’s annual general meeting.

Guild presentation at LAS AGM

Linda Tinney (Guild Pres.)
(left) presented a big check
from the Guild to
Denise Leddon
(LAS Assn. Pres.)
for the Symphony
on 4/19/16.
Estate sales management
is a major source
of Guild funds.
Join the Guild to help!

Guild Bylaws

The current LAS Guild bylaws (89K pdf) went into effect on July 1, 2016.

Join the Guild!

Membership types: Active members ($20/year) participate in all Guild activities; Associate members ($35/year) participate in at least one activity; and Friends ($50/year; non-voting members) are informed about Guild activities but not required to help.

To join the Guild, send your contact info (name / address / phone(s) / e-mail) and a check payable to LAS Guild to the Membership Chair, LAS Guild, PO Box 1049, Livermore CA 94551. Note any areas you’d be especially interested in helping with. Or print and fill out an application form and mail it in with your check.

Adobe Reader icon Note: The application form is a pdf document; open it with Adobe Reader.

For more information, please e-mail 2016–17 president Linda Tinney at, or phone her at (925) 606-5422.

2016–2017 Guild Officers

Linda Tinney, President
Nan Davies, Vice-President
Marcia Stimatz Elchesen, Recording Secretary
Pat Burnett, Corresponding Secretary
Joan Dickinson, Treasurer
Nominating Committee: (chair to be appointed)
Mary Ann Johnston, Barbara Morrison (terms end 6/30/17); Patty Canning, Joie Spooner (terms end 6/30/18)
Leota Lee, Immediate Past President

2016–2017 Guild Members


Anne Anaya
Virginia Bing
Dona Blackmore
Virginia Brown
Leona Brush
Peggy Burdick
Patricia Burnett
Ginger Bytnar
Evangeline (“Evie”) Cadrecha
Bob and Patty Canning
Sandy Clark
Dorothy Clarkson
Adela Cook
Carol Counts
Isabel Curry
David P. Darlington
Nan Davies
Joan Dickinson
Judy Eckart
Marcia Elchesen
Marcia Finders
Patricia Fredericks

Rickie J. Friedli/Giono
Nancy Fritsch
Janet Gabrielson
Irma Giannotti
Joan Green
Carol Guarnaccia
Dick Hatfield
Muriel Haupt
Mary Jestice
Mary Ann Johnston
Jean King
Mary Kroesen
Maudie Kuenning
Anita Kuntz
Denise Leddon
Leota Lee
Anne Lindl
Anne Loyola
Pat Mann
Eva Marion
Sally Marone
Lou Anne Martin

Virginia McFann
Nancy McKenzie
Judy McMurry
Linda Miller
Helen Moore
Barbara Morrison
Sharron Morrison
Carole Murray
Allene Nimitz
Janice Paquette
Martha Peterson
Marguerite Platt
Sue Rabe
Wendy Rosenkilde
Marie Ross
Bobbie Rothenberg
Marie Ruzicka
Cyndy Salmon
Carlotta Schauer
Sonja Schlapfer
Tania Selden
Gerda Sesto

Nancy Sharnet
Joie Spooner
John Stein
Kathy Streeter
Sally Swanson
Naomi (Nickie) Thomas
Linda Tinney
Margaret Tracy
William Turner
Naomi Webster
Patricia Wheeler
Anne White
Ayn Wieskamp
Bob Williams
Pat Wintemute

Honorary Members
Dr. Arthur and Helene Barnes
Bev Eckley
Bev Hamlin
Marion Stearns

2016–2017 Guild Directory

The most recent Guild address / phone directory (659KB pdf) is password-protected.

Note: changed 4/18/17 LASA AGM time to 7–7:20 p.m. (3/10/17); new Winter Meeting site (1/8/17); Bing added (2/7/17); Burnett replaced Nimitz on Estate Sales committee (1/8/17).

Back to Top

photo credits: Joan Dickinson (10/2/15 and 4/19/16), Jianyue Liu (1/28/16)
© Livermore-Amador Symphony Association